Should Bruno Fernandes’ first strike against Brighton have stood? Replays show ball was out of playjuin 30, 2020
The red-hot Portuguese playmaker extended his impressive form for the Champions League chasers, but his strike on the south coast has been greeted with frustration after a glaring error from the match officials.
In fact, there were two incidents that led to outrage on social media in the build-up to Fernandes’ strike – but on both occasions VAR failed to intervene.
Fans are incensed after controversy surrounded Bruno Fernandes’ first strike against Brighton
Mason Greenwood had seemingly controlled the ball out of play in the build-up to the goal
Mason Greenwood, who was also on target against the Seagulls on Tuesday evening, had controlled the ball on the touchline – but appeared to do so out of bounds.
Both images and video replays showed the lapse in judgement from the linesman.
And the dubious nature of the goal stretched a little further. Luke Shaw received the ball down the left flank, and the full back then delivered a cross which allowed Fernandes to bury beyond Mat Ryan shortly after.
The Manchester United starlet was unable to control the ball on the pitch before racing away
Luke Shaw also appeared to have been offside in a very tight call before Fernandes had struck
But again replays revealed a very tight offside call, with Shaw afforded the benefit of the doubt.
The lucky break allowed United to ease into a comfortable two-nil lead, and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer’s rampant side never looked back at the Amex.
Fernandes notched his double shortly after half-time to round off an incisive counter attack from the visitors.
Social media users, however, were aggrieved at the manner of the Old Trafford outfit’s win – with many justifiably questioning the nature of United’s second goal.
Fernandes notched a double as United recorded a comfortable win in the race for the top four
One account declared ‘United are well and truly back’ due to the questionable circumstances.
‘We back’ is how a United supporter rounded up the controversy with their club enjoying a stellar unbeaten run and firmly in the hunt to secure European football next season.
Another, seemingly a Leicester fan, said: ‘So you’re telling me Manchester United just scored a goal when the ball went out of play and someone was offside? Yep, goodbye top four.’
And a fourth believes that the missed calls from the officials were a timely reminder of Sir Alex Ferguson’s trophy-laden tenure. They tweeted: ‘Shaw offside, ball out on Greenwood. Even with VAR, Fergie’s heritage still arrives.’